Great sporting legends to attend Laureus World Sports Awards

Share this page

March 26, 2015 

Shanghai will be the focus of the sporting world when it stages the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, April 15.

Laureus World Sports Academy Members, including great Olympians such as Nadia Comaneci, Michael Johnson, Edwin Moses and Mark Spitz, Formula One world champions Emerson Fittipaldi and Mika Hakkinen, boxing’s Marvelous Marvin Hagler and legendary Chinese sports stars Li Xiaopeng and Yang Yang, are among the early names to confirm that they will be attending the prestigious event, which will be hosted by film and TV actor Benedict Cumberbatch.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is the premier honours event on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 50 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will be unveiled at the globally televised Awards Ceremony staged at the world-famous Shanghai Grand Theatre.

Among the Laureus Academy Members and Laureus Ambassadors so far confirmed for Shanghai are:

  • Nadia Comaneci
  • Mick Doohan
  • Emerson Fittipaldi
  • Sean Fitzpatrick
  • Dawn Fraser
  • Cathy Freeman
  • Tanni Grey-Thompson
  • Marvelous Marvin Hagler
  • Mika Hakkinen
  • Mike Horn
  • Michael Johnson
  • Kip Keino
  • Franz Klammer
  • Janica Kostelic
  • Li Xiaopeng
  • Tegla Loroupe
  • Edwin Moses
  • Robby Naish
  • Alexey Nemov
  • Morné du Plessis
  • Hugo Porta
  • Mark Spitz
  • Steve Waugh
  • Yang Yang

Double Olympic gold medallist Edwin Moses, Chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy, said: “I am delighted that so many members of the Laureus Family will in Shanghai next month to salute the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year for what I know will be an unforgettable sporting moment.

Proceeds from the Laureus World Sports Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports more than 150 community sports projects in 34 countries, including China. Since its inception, Laureus has raised over €60 million for projects which have improved the lives of millions of young people.

The Awards Ceremony, attended by legends of sport past and present, celebrates the achievements of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year. The Host Partner of the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards is Chinese textile and wool company HengYuanXiang Group (HYX), and the event will receive the strong support of the Shanghai Municipal Government.

The full list of Nominees for the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards is:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year
Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis; Lewis Hamilton (UK) Motor Racing; Renaud Lavillenie (France) Athletics; Rory McIlroy (UK) Golf; Marc Márquez (Spain) Motor Cycling; Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Football.

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year
Valerie Adams (NZ) Athletics; Marit Bjørgen (Norway) Nordic Skiing; Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia) Athletics; Tina Maze (Slovenia) Alpine Skiing; Li Na (China) Tennis: Serena Williams (US) Tennis.

Laureus World Team of the Year
European Ryder Cup Team (Golf); Germany Men’s Football Team; Mercedes AMG Petronas Team (Germany); Real Madrid Football Team (Spain); San Antonio Spurs (US) Basketball; Switzerland Davis Cup Team (Tennis).

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award
Marin Cilic (Croatia) Tennis; Mario Götze (Germany) Football; Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Motor Racing; James Rodriguez (Colombia) Football; Mikaela Shiffrin (US) Alpine Skiing; Switzerland Davis Cup Team (Tennis).

Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award
Francesco Acerbi (Italy) Football; Schalk Burger (South Africa) Rugby; Diego Milito (Argentina) Football; Jo Pavey (UK) Athletics; Pierre Vaultier (France) Snowboarding; Oliver Wilson (UK) Golf.

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
Shelley Gautier (Canada) Cycling; Tatyana McFadden (US) Wheelchair Racing; Roman Petushkov (Russia) Nordic Skiing; Anna Schaffelhuber (Germany) Alpine Skiing; Sarah Storey (UK) Cycling; Leung Yuk Wing (Hong Kong SAR China) Boccia.

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Award
Alan Eustace (US) Skydiving; Stephanie Gilmore (Australia) Surfing; Nyjah Huston (US) Skateboarding; Sage Kotsenburg (US) Snowboarding; Danny MacAskill (UK) Trials Cycling; Gabriel Medina (Brazil) Surfing. 

For more detailed biographies of Nominees, click here.

Among the sporting greats who have previously been named as winners of Laureus Awards over the last 15 years have been Usain Bolt, Sebastian Coe, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Alex Ferguson, Lewis Hamilton, Kelly Holmes, Yao Ming, Rafael Nadal, Pelé, Steve Redgrave, Ronaldo, Michael Schumacher, Kelly Slater, Shaun White, Serena Williams, Liu Xiang and Zinedine Zidane.

Guests who have attended previous Awards Ceremonies in the past have included David and Victoria Beckham, Morgan Freeman, Gwyneth Paltrow, Kevin Spacey, Jamie Foxx, Jackie Chan, Thandie Newton, Clive Owen and Eva Longoria.

Click here for more news about the Laureus World Sports Awards 2015