Spain Men's Football Team
Spain won the 2012 European Championship under coach Vicente del Bosque to become the first national team to win three major championships consecutively – Euro 2008, World Cup 2010 and now Euro 2012. Such was the power and skill of their 4-0 win over Italy in the final that experts are asking the question: are they the greatest international football team in history?
Spain conceded only one goal in Euro 2012 such was their supremacy and no fewer than ten of their players were named in the 23-strong Team of the Tournament, chosen by UEFA’s technical group – Alba, Alonso, Busquets, Casillas, Fabregas, Iniesta, Pique, Ramos, Silva and Xavi. Andres Iniesta was named Best Player of Euro 2012 and striker Fernando Torres won the Golden Boot as leading scorer with three goals.