England’s Ashes victory may help to make Laureus history

The England cricket team will be strong contenders for nomination for the Laureus World Team of the Year Award, after their remarkable Ashes victory over Australia.
History has never favoured England for the prestigious Laureus Award. They have previously been nominated just once, in 2012, while Australia, who won the Award in 2002, under captain Steve Waugh, now a Laureus Academy Member, were also nominated in 2001, 2004 and 2008.
England regained the Ashes after wrapping up a spectacular victory over Australia on the third morning of the Fourth Test at Trent Bridge. It was England's second successive three-day victory which gave them a 3-1 lead in the series, with one match to play.
England’s Joe Root, who scored 130 in the Fourth Test, has now become the leading batsman in the International Cricket Council world rankings and could be a possible Nominee for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award.
Root has scored 443 runs at an average of 71.79 so far in the Ashes Series, with two centuries and two half-centuries, although he will be aware that no player in a team sport has ever won the individual Laureus Award.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year