Laureus World Sports Awards

Laureus World Sports Awards

The global sporting honours, recognising and celebrating the world's greatest athletes, the inspirational power of sport and its ability to change lives

First held in 2000, the annual event honours the greatest and most inspirational sporting triumphs of the year and showcases the work of Laureus Sport for Good.
Shortlists for seven categories (Sportswoman, Sportsman, Team, Breakthrough, Comeback, Action and Sport for Good) are created by votes from more than 1,000 sports media from over 70 countries. The shortlist for World Athlete of the Year with a Disability is provided by the International Paralympic Committee.
The Laureus World Sports Academy (a unique group of sporting legends) votes for the winners in each shortlisted category and The Academy also has the ability to grant discretionary awards, such as the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award. 
Broadcast around the world, the Awards also provides a global platform for supporting Laureus Sport for Good, by showcasing the incredible work done to transform young lives around the world. Each year, one programme is recognised for its outstanding work, through the Laureus Sport for Good Award. 

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year