Laureus Chairman inducted into first IAAF Hall of Fame

Laureus Academy Chairman, the Olympic gold medal winning hurdler Edwin Moses, has been named in the inaugural IAAF Hall of Fame.
Moses’ top-flight athletics career reached legendary heights by the time he retired from the sport in 1989. He won two Olympic gold medals, in Montreal in 1976 and Los Angeles in 1984 and a bronze in Seoul in 1988.
Had it not been for the American boycott of the 1980 Olympics in Moscow, he would almost certainly have added a third gold to his collection as well.
In 1983 he broke the world record for the fourth time in Koblenz, Germany, with a time of 47.02, a mark which stood for the next nine years. During his career he won three World Cup titles and two World Championships.
Reflecting Moses' status in the history of his sport, only 12 other athletes have been named in this first group of athletes to be inducted into the IAAF Hall of Fame.
To ensure that inductees are of the highest sporting calibre, strict conditions have been laid down to which all potential Hall of Fame athletes must comply. This includes that athletes must have won at least two Olympic or World Championships gold medals and at set least one world record. Moses has achieved all of these achievements. In addition, athletes must have been retired for at least 10 years at the time of election to the IAAF Hall of Fame.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year