2024 Awards

Novak Djokovic, Aitana Bonmatí, Simone Biles and Jude Bellingham were among the big winners as an unrivalled collection of sport’s greatest talents celebrated the 2024 Laureus World Sports Awards in Madrid.
On an unforgettable night at the historic Palacio de Cibeles in the Spanish capital, with the world’s media in attendance, Djokovic was named Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for a fifth time – equalling a record set by Roger Federer, his great rival on the tennis court as well as in the pursuit of the most sought-after statuette in sport: The Laureus.
This was the 25th staging of an event that has risen to the top of the sporting calendar – attended not just by the superstars of sport past and present, but also by influential figures from the world of fashion, film and business. 
But it was the athletes who took centre stage: from the representatives of the Laureus World Sports Academy – the 69 legends of sport whose votes decide these Awards – present in Madrid, to the heroes of today, for whom the Laureus is as coveted a prize as any they earn in the sporting arena.Bonmatí took to the stage twice: to collect the Award for Sportswoman of the Year and again to represent the Spain team which won the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand – in the same city where that side returned to celebrate last summer. The world champions are now the Laureus World Team of the Year and Bonmatí becomes the first footballer to win the Sportswoman of the Year Award.
Bellingham, too, was on familiar territory. The English midfielder won the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award 24 hours after his goal won El Clásico for Real Madrid and he lit up the red carpet – among the many fans clamouring for a photograph was Usain Bolt, a former Laureus World Sportsman of the Year and the fastest man in history; the shared moment between Bellingham and Bolt – who hold two of the most famous celebrations in sport – was one of many #OnlyAtLaureus interactions that caught fire on social media.  

Biles was honoured with the Comeback of the Year Award after a sensational return to gymnastics following a two-year hiatus. Also honoured on a special night in Madrid were Arisa Trew – who aged just 13 became the first skateboarder to land a 720 in competition – and Diede de Groot, who won a third consecutive Calendar Slam in wheelchair tennis. Trew took home the Action Sportsperson of the Year Award, while De Groot was honoured with the Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award.

Rafael Nadal had previously won the Awards received this year by Bellingham, Biles and Djokovic, and this year completed a ‘Laureus Slam’ by collecting the Laureus Sport for Good Award for the work done by Fundación Rafa Nadal, the Laureus-supported programme which uses sport and education to improve the lives and opportunities of at-risk young people in India and Spain. Djokovic then closed the evening by receiving the Sportsman of the Year Award from his friend Tom Brady, the seven-time Super Bowl champion with whom he had watched Bellingham’s heroics at the Bernabeu. The 24-time Grand Slam champion brought together everything that the Laureus World Sports Awards celebrates and stands for.

He said: “Laureus is a very special organisation. I would like to thank especially Johann Rupert, the founder of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation who recognised the power of sport. Also, of course, Nelson Mandela, who inspired us all and sent the powerful message that sport has the power to change the world.”

Check out the full list of Winners below...

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year