15 Years of Laureus: an introduction to the Laureus Awards

May 8, 2014
Debate is at the heart of sport, and that is what the Laureus World Sports Awards provides.
Held annually since 2000, the Awards celebrates the most remarkable men and women from the world of sport along with the greatest sporting achievements fans have marvelled at throughout the year. The Ceremony itself is broadcast around the world to millions.
The names of the six Nominees for the Laureus World Sportsman, Sportswoman, Team, Breakthrough, Comeback and Action Sports Awards come from the votes of the Laureus Media Selection Panel. This exclusive panel consists of leading sports editors, writers, broadcasters and online journalists from around the world. The Nominees for the Laureus World Sportsperson with a Disability Award are chosen by a specialist panel.
It is then the members of the Laureus World Sports Academy who vote by secret ballot to select the Award winners in all seven categories.
But the Awards don’t stop there.
Each year the Academy has the power to give discretionary Awards for very special achievements. In the past these have included the Spirit of Sport Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Sport for Good Award.
In each category, the winner receives the stunning Laureus Statuette, crafted by Cartier, with its representation of the striving human form against an engraved representation of the continents.
Past winners include Usain Bolt who, on winning his third Award, said: This is one of the greatest honours. I worked hard over the years to win this a third time… it’s like winning a gold medal.
To see more videos from the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards, check out our YouTube page.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year