Berlin the goal as Löw and Bierhoff lead football stars at Laureus Awards

April 4, 2016 
Joachim Löw, coach of world champions Germany, and team manager Oliver Bierhoff, will be among the guests at the 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony in Berlin on Monday, April 18.
They are among an illustrious team of football stars, past and present, who will be present including Cafu, Luis Figo, Alessandro Del Piero, Marcel Desailly, Jens Lehmann, Carles Puyol, Raul, Jamie Redknapp, plus legendary women’s player Nia Künzer.
Stars from a wide variety of sports will be in Berlin. On the guest list are: Paralympic stars Marie Bochet, Martin Braxenthaler, Anna Schaffelhuber and Michael Teuber; former Olympic cyclists Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton; rugby’s Brian O’Driscoll and Sean Fitzpatrick; skateboarder Bob Burnquist; boxers Marvelous Marvin Hagler and Axel Schulz, golfer Martin Kaymer and pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva.
Laureus Academy Members attending include Olympians Nadia Comaneci, Cathy Freeman, Kip Keino, Edwin Moses, Alexey Nemov, Steve Redgrave, along with Olympic skiers Franz Klammer and Alberto Tomba and skating queen Katarina Witt.
Among the Laureus Academy Members, Ambassadors, Nominees and Guests so far confirmed are:
Boris Becker
Bob Burnquist
Mick Doohan
Jan Frodeno
Martin Kaymer
Jens Lehmann
Brian O'Driscoll
Axel Schulz
Oliver Bierhoff
Morné du Plessis
Tanni Grey-Thompson
Kip Keino
Tegla Loroupe
Victoria Pendleton
Michael Tate
Ole Bischof
Nadia Comaneci
Pieter du Preez
Joachim Löw
Chloe Kim
Michael Teuber
Hugo Porta
Liu Cuiqing
Stefan Blöcher
Marvelous Marvin Hagler
Omara Durand
Garrett McNamara
Christa Kinshofer
Daley Thompson
Carles Puyol
Alessandro Del Piero
Fredi Bobic
Mika Hakkinen
Luis Figo
Edwin Moses
Franz Klammer
Alberto Tomba
Marcel Desailly
Marie Bochet
Regina Halmich
Anna Fenninger
Robby Naish
Philip Köster
Pascal Wehrlein
Steve Redgrave
Kapil Dev
Ian Botham
Chris Hoy
Sean Fitzpatrick
Ilie Nastase
Stefan Kretzschmar
Katarina Witt
Jamie Redknapp
Genzebe Dibaba
Martin Braxenthaler
Yelena Isinbayeva
Cathy Freeman
Alexey Nemov
Nia Künzer
Kathi Wörndl
Anna Schaffelhuber

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year