Laureus Media Prize Germany held to emphasise the role of social engagement in sports journalism

November 7
The Laureus Media Prize Germany has taken place once again with prizes being awarded for outstanding work in the sports media during 2012.
This was the eighth Media Prize ceremony, which was founded in order to celebrate and promote individuals, journalism and initiatives that encapsulate the core Laureus belief that sport can make the world a better place.
The most prestigious accolade of the night, the Prize for Chairty given by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, went to DFB (German Football Association) president Wolfgang Niersbach Award for the longstanding social commitment of the German Football Association
The jury of voters this year included a host of Laureus supporters: Franz Beckenbauer, Boris Becker, Verena Bentele, Ole Bischof, Stefan Blöcher, Fredi Bobic, Martin Braxenthaler, Sabine Christiansen, Susi Erdmann, Franz Klammer, Vitali Klitschko, Wladimir Klitschko, Nia Künzer, Jens Lehmann, Hermann Maier, Henry Maske, Thomas Muster, Günter Netzer, Axel Schulz, Jochen Schumann, Ralf Schumacher, Felix Sturm, Michael Teuber, Franziska van Almsick.
The other winners on the night were:
Spirit of Laureus prize in the print category- Austrian newspaper Salzburger Nachrichten
Spirit of Laureus prize in the TV category -  Sat.1,
Spirit of Laureus prize in the online category -,
Laureus Media prize 2012 Social Sports Project - the United Kids Foundations.
Laureus Media prize in the category Social Media – The Couroons
A special prize, the Laureus Media prize for the largest commitment to Laureus, was given to Laureus Ambassador Axel Schulz, who was honoured for his support of the charity this year. 

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year