Marc Márquez wins Laureus Breakthrough Award

Spanish MotoGP biker Marc Márquez has been name Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award.
Márquez became MotoGP world champion, at 20 years 266 days. He had six wins during the year and became the first to win the title in his debut season since Kenny Roberts in 1978. Márquez also made history by becoming the youngest winner of a Grand Prix, in Austin in April, at 20 years 63 days.
After being presented with his Award in Kuala Lumpur by David Coulthard, Du Juan, Giacomo Agostini and Mick Doohan, he said: “I want to say thank you to the Laureus Academy for giving me this Award. It is so special for me, being only 20 years old, to be here with all these legends and all these athletes.
“This is one of the most important Awards that I have received. Thanks, also, to all the people who helped have me to ride in MotoGp at the top level and get that title.”
Laureus World Sports Academy Member Mick Doohan, who was world 500cc champion five times, said: “Historically, they are getting younger and younger and elevating themselves on to the world stage at a young age. Ten years ago, thinking of somebody on bikes at 20 was a rarity.”
The Awards were announced in seven categories. The winners are:
Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Sebastian Vettel
Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Missy Franklin
Laureus World Team of the Year: Bayern Munich
Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Marc Márquez
Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Rafael Nadal
Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Marie Bochet
Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Jamie Bestwick
There were two additional Awards: the Laureus Spirit of Sport Award was presented to the Afghanistan Cricket Team and the Laureus Sport for Good Award was presented to Magic Bus, the sports-based community project in India.  

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year