Sporting legends line up to Laureus World Sports Awards

Monaco will be the focus of the sports world just one month from today when it stages the 2019 Laureus World Sports Awards, the most prestigious honours event on the international sporting calendar.
Laureus World Sports Academy Chairman Sean Fitzpatrick will lead a glittering collection of his fellow Academy Members at the Awards Ceremony, including no fewer than 20 Olympic and Paralympic gold medal winners, five FIFA World Cup winners, plus world champions from the major sports.
Among the Laureus Academy Members who will be in Monaco are:
Football: Franz Beckenbauer, Cafu, Marcel Desailly, Luis Figo, Carles Puyol, Alessandro Del Piero;
Athletics: Sergey Bubka, Cathy Freeman, Tegla Loroupe, Edwin Moses, Nawal El Moutawakel, Daley Thompson;
Rugby: Sean Fitzpatrick, Morné du Plessis, Hugo Porta;
Golf: Lorena Ochoa; 
Tennis: Boris Becker, Li Na, Monica Seles;
Cycling: Fabian Cancellara, Chris Hoy;
Gymnastics: Nadia Comaneci, Alexey Nemov, Li Xiaopeng;
Boxing: Marvelous Marvin Hagler
Skateboarding: Tony Hawk;
Motor Sport: Giacomo Agostini, Mick Doohan, Emerson Fittipaldi;
Rowing: Steve Redgrave;
American Football: Marcus Allen; Table Tennis: Deng Yaping;
Swimming: Dawn Fraser, Mark Spitz;
Paralympic Sport: Tanni Grey-Thompson;
Winter Sport: Maria Höfl-Riesch, Franz Klammer, Katarina Witt, Yang Yang;
Cricket: Steve Waugh

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year