Laureus celebrates South Africa’s 2013 YES graduation

November 12, 2013
We are delighted to announce that the second class of Laureus YES graduates have received their certificates at a ceremony alongside some very special Laureus friends.
Chairman of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, Edwin Moses, and Chairman of Laureus South Africa, Morné du Plessis, were present to congratulate an inspirational group of Cape Town youth leaders who successfully took part in the Laureus Youth Empowerment Through Sport (YES) Programme earlier this year.
Edwin Moses commented: “I have seen the work of our projects globally and am always inspired by the potential of young leaders.  I am glad to see the Laureus YES Programme taking the lead in South Africa to raise the aspirations of youth leaders through sport”.
2013 marks the second year of this programme which trains youth leaders to harness the power of sport to inspire and transform their communities.  39 participants aged between 18 and 25 were selected from a wide base of sport for development programmes nationally. YES leaders have completed sports management training delivered by innovative partners such as the Sports Science Institute of South Africa, Exercise Teachers’ Academy, Children’s Radio Foundation and Youth Zones.  Knowledge gained includes event management, IT skills, facilitation, sports coaching, media communication and important leadership skills.
Morné du Plessis continued, “Today’s YES Programme graduates embody the spirit of Laureus.   They are South Africa’s sports leaders of tomorrow who will be changing the world around them”.
After the graduation the leaders showcased their new skills in sessions with 40 kids from local Laureus projects: Grassroots Soccer, Waves For Change and Indigo Youth Movement.  They were joined by four Laureus Ambassadors - Ernst van Dyk, Ryan Sandes, Cynthia Tshaka and Swiss Laureus Ambassador and defending champion of the Absa Cape Epic, Christoph Sauser.
The Cape Town YES Programme graduates are Mziyanda Matiwane, Ferdill Vilander, Taahirah Matthews, Lamees Solomons, Ashley Meyer and Charl Jensel.  YES Programme graduation ceremonies will follow in Durban and Johannesburg.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year