The Brawn Formula One team amazed the sporting world in 2009 by winning the drivers and constructors world titles in its debut year. 
Brawn was formed from the defunct Honda team in March 2009 when Ross Brawn, former technical director of Benetton, Ferrari and Honda, led a management buyout, following the Japanese manufacturer’s withdrawal from Grand Prix racing.
The new team made their racing debut at the 2009 season-opening Australian Grand Prix in March where they took pole position and second place in qualifying. In the race, Brawn produced a one-two finish with Britain’s Jenson Button winning the Grand Prix and Brazil’s Rubens Barrichello coming second.
With engines supplied by Mercedes-Benz, Button won six of the first seven Grand Prix to effectively secure his World Drivers Championship, while team-mate Barrichello added victories in Valencia and Monza to ensure Brawn also won the World Constructors Championship.
Team of the Year Award 2010

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year