Dallas Mavericks won their first ever NBA title in 2011 beating favourites Miami Heat, a team featuring superstars LeBron James and Dwayne Wade. Dirk Nowitzki became the first European-born player to receive the Most Valuable Player Award in the NBA Finals, as the Mavericks beat Miami 4-2 in the best-of-seven series.
Coach Rick Carlisle put together a championship winning team including some unlikely heroes: defensive anchor was Tyson Chandler, who had foot and leg injuries in the previous two seasons and was acquired from Charlotte Bobcats for almost nothing; Jason Kidd, 38, was in his 17th season; Shawn Marion, 33, was a four-time All-Star with the Phoenix Suns, but had not achieved that level since 2008; and Peja Stojakovic, 34, was limited by back surgery and an abdominal injury in recent years.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year