England became the No. 1 cricket team in the world after a spectacular 4-0 series victory against former top team India during the summer. Under captain Andrew Strauss and coach Andy Flower, England’s rise to the top has been relentless. From May 2009, they have been undefeated.
They started with a 2-0 home series win against West Indies and since then have beaten Australia twice, Bangladesh twice, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and have drawn a series with South Africa. Eight England players were nominated for the annual International Cricket Council Awards – James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and Jonathan Trott. Batsman Trott was named Cricketer of the Year and Cook was voted Test Cricketer of the Year.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year