Won the FIFA World Cup in Brazil, becoming the first European team to win in South America. Mario Götze scored the winning goal in the final against Argentina. It was Germany’s fourth World Cup success.
The highlight was their 7-1 semi-final win over host nation Brazil. Goalkeeper Manuel Neuer was the star of the team, winning the FIFA World Cup Golden Glove award and was on the shortlist of three for the Ballon d’Or/ FIFA World Player of the Year award.
Germany manager Joachim Löw was voted Coach of the Year at the Ballon d’Or awards. Captain Philipp Lahm, Mats Hummels and Thomas Müller were all named in the FIFA Team of the Tournament.  The German management team was Oliver Bierhoff (manager), Thomas Schneider (assistant coach) and Andreas Koepke (goalkeeping coach).
Team of the Year 2015

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year