Finland’s Kimi Raikkonen won his first Formula One World Championship in the most dramatic way possible, clinching the title in the final race of the season in Sao Paulo by just one point from McLaren Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso.  After winning the first race in Australia in March, Raikkonen had to wait until July to win again in France and Britain.  But the secret of his remarkable championship success was winning three of the last four races, in Belgium, China and Brazil, to overtake the McLaren drivers.

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year