In 2013, Bayern Munich became the first club to complete the treble of UEFA Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup. In a year of outstanding success, they beat Borussia Dortmund 2-1 in the final to win the European Cup for the fifth time.
In the Bundesliga, they lost just one match and created a host of records: most points in a season (91); highest winning points margin (25); most wins (29); fewest goals conceded (18). Their victory over CSKA Moscow in November was a record tenth successive Champions League success.
Also in November they passed Hamburg’s record of 36 games without defeat, dating back to 1983. Six oftheir players were nominated for the FIFA Player of the Year Award: Philipp Lahm, Thomas Mueller, Manuel Neuer, Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben and Bastian Schweinsteiger.
Team of the Year 2014

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year